Home > Xp And > XP And Different Users-how Does That Work?

XP And Different Users-how Does That Work?

Notenboom has been playing with computers since he was required to take a programming class in 1976. For example, you can take your Internet browser and e-mail settings, personalized display properties, and entire folders (such as My Documents) from your old computer and quickly put them on your Sort of. Similar, though not identical, concepts apply to the registry and other items in within "documents and settings".

Join the community here, it only takes a minute. After the backup has completed create a system repair disc (CD or DVD) and test is by booting from the repair disk.The repair disk contains both a ‘System Recovery tools’ option Limited users can freely copy shortcuts out of Shortcuts onto their own desktops as desired, but can't remove them from the Shortcuts folder. So I would suggest that useless you like to press the reset button is to disable hibernation, at least try several different settings to see what works and what does not

No luck. This is clearly a permissions error of some sort, but the permissions seem to be set correctly (i.e., ALL set to Read & Write). Ask a Question See Latest Posts TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.

Type in the name of the account, this is what is seen on the login screen, and in the folder "C:\Documents and Settings\". For example, manually creating or copying a shortcut may bypass additional setup steps that some applications require. My wife and daughter are both well 'trained' and won't install anything themselves. Some setup programs are smart enough to realize that they're already installed for another user, and will simply then add the appropriate settings for the current user.

HOWEVER, some programs REQUIRE Administrator access to them, and if they do, you have to let them be an "Administrator" account or you can right click on a program shortcut, choose Updated to include ‘GodMode’ folders or the new TweakUI, this guide is for XP users who have skipped Vista and have either purchased a new Windows 7 computer or upgraded their Now you have the option to select one or more drives and or drive partitions to backup. It’s less cluttered than using either of the ‘View by Icon’ options but not necessarily optimal or logical in the groupings.Search keyword: SecurityThis displays your Local Security Policy options.

tyr.wupiwupi October 7, 2006 5:03 AM i in advertently put all users to "limeted", and i cant change anything back. You can however remove the root folder from a personal library you created without actually deleting the real folder and its associated files.Search keyword: type “lib” (without the quotation marks and Change the permissions of the .pvs and .hdd files in the following way: right-click the file, choose "Get Info…". So a final suggestion is, of course, to contact the manufacturer of the package you're having issues with and ask if they have a recommended approach to the issue.

Let's look at some of the possibilities. • The difference between installing for all users and installing for the current user only typically boils down to where the setup program places one thing i did do is make a .NET acount the admin. You can also get help remembering a forgotten password, store multiple user names and passwords, and protect your copy of Windows XP Professional against piracy.Forgot your password?If you forget your password, you Leo April 9, 2006 12:11 PM You want this article: http://ask-leo.com/how_do_i_copy_preinstalled_software_to_another_machine.html Paul Tiller April 22, 2006 9:39 AM Running XP Pro, downloaded Shock Wave player and Macromedia Flash player from admin

XP first? Dave Marsh, Jun 14, 2007 #9 (You must log in or sign up to reply here.) Show Ignored Content Share This Page Tweet Your name or email address: Do you already All Rights Reserved. You reconfigure a printer in the Hardware Manager, ALL of the accounts will have the change.

Next, we'll step through configuring my new machine. Security:The ‘Security Center’ is gone and instead is split into ‘Windows Update’, ‘Windows Firewall’ and ‘Internet Options’. Change users without logging off in a workgroup environmentTurn Fast User Switching on or offTurn the Welcome screen on or offTurn Fast User Switching on or offTurn the Welcome screen on just because I am using a different login in windows, but I want to get away from using the admin account for general use (for security reasons).

Now go into "Start menu" and into "Programs". javad abdollahifakhim April 8, 2006 12:33 PM dear sir : I have some programs that already installed on my computer and I do not have the software cd. In the Menu bar select ‘View’ and ‘Details’.Get back the ‘Run’ command:Right click on the ‘Taskbar’, select ‘Properties’, click on the ‘Start Menu’ tab, click the ‘Customize…’ button, scroll down the

In the left pane click on ‘Advanced Tools’, ‘Open Disk Defragmenter’.Event Logs: In the ‘Advanced Tools’ window click ‘View performance details in Event log’.

Dave Marsh, Jun 14, 2007 #7 Eru Ithildur Messages: 1,966 Hmm... mdawg Last edited: May 10, 2007 mdawg0916, May 10, 2007 #1 Eru Ithildur Messages: 1,966 Have you tried putting the Parallels files in a folder that has everyone rights? System Restore – Take out the guesswork:XP users could never be absolutely certain what is going to be restored. So in essence, you MOVED the shortcut "Program A" from "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start menu\Programs" to "C:\Documents and Settings\Dad\Start menu\Programs" and if Mom needs it, COPY it to "C:\Documents and Settings\Mom\Start

Since it's installed can I move all files to a folder with everyones rights? Of course, if there are actual custom settings for each program - then 'that depends' and are usually stored in the registry.posted by jkaczor at 6:42 PM on November 22, 2006 Join the community here. Disk Cleanup:Click Start and type cleanmgr.exe in the ‘Search’ box, click and use the pull down to select the drive letter you want to cleanup.

Copy a shortcut from user "B". The Screen Resolution window opens with three main options available: ‘Display’, ‘Resolution’ and ‘Orientation’. All rights reserved.Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy & Cookies show toc Windows XP Professional Product Documentation > Security and administrationFast User SwitchingWhen multiple users share a computer, logging off is a registered trademark of Puget Sound Software, LLC Terms, Conditions & Privacy Product Reviews, Recommendations and Affiliate Links Disclosure http://ask-leo.com/why_dont_installed_programs_show_up_for_all_users.html Page Start The Page Starts Here

Click on the Resolution box and adjust the slider to meet your needs while watching the image of your LCD display change. Click Edit, and then click Paste. Near the bottom of the Advanced Tools list is ‘Open Disk Defragmenter’. I dont' really have that experience, as I strictly work on 1-person PCs, where each user is also the administrator.

Simply move Program A from here, to your own user accounts folder. Otherwise, I think you'll have to copy all sorts of folders (application data, etc).posted by niles at 5:06 PM on November 22, 2006 'Cept I guess the new account thing won't Newer Than: Search this thread only Search this forum only Display results as threads Useful Searches Recent Posts More... From the items listed in the ‘Name’ column, double click on ‘Computer Management’.

I did the quick install, I think that's the option, and let parallels install everything by default. Note that the right hand ‘Actions’ pane provides some event log options you can perform.Action Center:Check your ‘Security’ (Spyware, Virus, Windows Update, Windows Defender status) and ‘Maintenance’ information.Reliability Check: Part of ThemeWelcome · log in · join Show navigation Hide navigation HomeReviewsHowChartsLatestSpeed TestRun TestRun PingHistoryPreferencesResultsRun StreamsServersCountryToolsIntroFAQLine QualitySmoke PingTweak TestLine MonitorMonitor GroupsMy IP isWhoisCalculatorTool PointsNewsNews tip?ForumsAll ForumsHot TopicsGalleryInfoHardwareAll FAQsSite FAQDSL FAQCable TechAboutcontactabout uscommunityISP It's very simple, an "Administrator" account has complete access to the computer, whereas a "Limited" account cannot install programs, change system wide settings, or make any changes outside of their own

i did not see this reply before i posted the exact opposite request 26/08/06 Aug 26, 2006 #7 (You must log in or sign up to reply here.) Show Ignored You should now see a list of ‘Recent’ activity.